Of Decisions Indie.

Posted this little gem on my Pinterest the other day:

 in defense of Indy

These are real things that have happened, and in a shockingly short timeframe.

Independent publishing is very quickly becoming the less scary option for thousands; especially if one does one’s publishing housework and research. Not to say that anything’s been easy, or that my writing will prove financially feasible, but I expected the process to be a hell of a lot harder and quieter post-upload.

I’m finding that the nights of sheer terror over not being a Real Writer (and having wasted precious Bathroom Renovation time) are quickly evolving into mornings horizoned by smiles: each day something new happens that flags a tangible success.

Writers like Kristen Bell, M. Louisa Locke, and J.A. Konrath, and independent media advocates like Chris Hardwick make a pretty clear case. I’m grateful they’re out there, and glad that I started listening to them.  They were an invaluable voice during the dark, “What-the-hell-am-I-doing?!?” mornings.

I still have those, by the way. They usually precede the very good “Just Because, so-keep-going” moments.  Which are my favourite.

Especially when seasoned with good, strong Coffee of Righteousness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

