The Writer’s Madness (or, #ScrewSnowstorms).

Yesterday, we got whomped here in Nova Scotia with our first real winter storm this year.

In a classic moment of sheer lunacy, I broke one of my own rules yesterday: “Do NOT go out into the storm”.

But when you’re a writer, and your manuscripts are ready, it got me. Like one of my kids were stranded out there.

Luckily, I headed out into the snow before the worst hit, and made it to Staples (which is like heaven or Disneyland or church to me at this point, apparently) to pick up the last Edit Manuscripts for to Drown in Ash. During the drive I laughed at how my wife would script my obituary, should the worst happen.

manuscript-and-storm-chips

 

Even managed to drop of one of the copies off to Kalip of the Raised Eyebrow, one of my toughest Beta Readers, who clearly thought I was nuts to deliver a manuscript in a snowstorm. But his place was on my way home.

So, not nuts.

Now begins the copy review and edit meetings before sending it to my typist and beginning the cover work with my fabulous graphics guy, Dylan Edwards. After that, we submit, order the galley copy, final read, hit ‘publish’, and release.

What a difference between this process and what we went through for Ash’s predecessor, To Drown in Sand. It’s great to have a system. I love systems.

As payment for my sheer madness, my wife demanded I obtain Storm Chips, which are a real thing now. Especially when your husband is a Mad Writer.

Happy Shovel Day!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

